Member Recognition

Each year the MSACOFP recognizes the outstanding work done by our members. These individuals are the life blood of our organization. 

Nominations for family physician of the year, James A. DiRenna, Sr. DO appreciation award, and outstanding female leader are accepted each year in the fall. 

Recipients are announced at the annual membership meeting during the Winter Family Medicine Update. 

Osteopathic Family Physician of the Year is the highest and most coveted award given by the Society.  Requirements for nominations include:

  • Must be an osteopathic family physician.
  • Has not previously received this honor in this or any other state family medicine affiliate organization.
  • Has been in practice in the State of Missouri for a minimum of six (6) years.
  • Is a member of the Missouri Society of the American College of Osteopathic Family Physicians and the American College of Osteopathic Family Physicians.
  • Exemplifies the principles of osteopathic family medicine.
  • Has exhibited outstanding accomplishments or services for the betterment of the osteopathic profession.

James A. DiRenna, Sr., DO Appreciation Award is presented annually to a person or organization that has shown continued support for the Winter Scientific Seminar or has given years of dedication and diligence to the osteopathic profession and/or osteopathic family medicine. Award nominees will be based on support of the Winter Family Medicine Update, the Society, and/or the osteopathic profession over many years. This award is nominated by the Society Board of Governors.

The Outstanding Female Leader award honors female physicians who serve as clinical role models, teachers, highly accomplished professional leaders, and sources of inspiration for women and men in medical training. Nominee must be an active member of the MSACOFP in good standing and have been in practice for at least five years.

Memorial awards are given to recognize member physicians who have passed away. Members who have passed away during the year are recognized for their contributions to the Society as well as family medicine in Missouri.